Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Another type of family jewels

    November 3, 2018 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    After gathering everything I thought I might need, I made my way out towards the Camera Obscura. When walking up another hill I happened upon a shop called The Boy Wizard, and even though I have my Harry Potter souvenirs, I had to go in. This place was probably exactly like most other merchandise shops for the illustrious books, and now movies, but there's no stopping my inner nerd. Right when you walk inside there was a table of wands, and more than I'd ever seen at another shop. I knew I most likely wouldn't be purchasing anything this go around, but I made my way through to the back looking at all there was to offer. Impressed by their expansive collection of goods I inquired if there was an online store, and they said it was in the works, but it was not up and running yet. From there an employee and I got in to the details of the wands made for each character and what it meant about them, even how some actors had input on the wands they used in the movies. Tearing myself away before I could whip out my credit card, I continued my path up the cobbled street. Along the way there was someone all dressed up in traditional Picts garb, and he made it very clear that it was not Scottish, and that their people were from Scandinavian decent. He even let me hold a double headed axe. After getting some very interesting information from him (he was a history teacher), I only walked about 30 feet before there was another person busking; this time, an honest to goodness bagpiper. The photo probably isn't my best, but even though it was warm enough to go without a jacket, it was as windy as could be. Adults were being pushed around by the blustery weather, and it was a surprise that children weren't being whisked away. When I made it to my destination, the queue was never ending; or at least it seemed that way. I decided to continue my ascent on to Edinburgh Castle. I'd heard mixed reviews of this particular castle, and even though the tickets seemed a tad exorbitant, I decided that I had to check it out. Walking in to buy my ticket the sun started to peak out from behind the clouds, and I knew I had made the right call. As a native of Edinburgh once told me "Good weather is when it's not raining." so sunshine meant great weather. As far as what they naysayers of this castle had to say, I'm in firm opposition. Not only do you have historical facts that could marvel anyone, but far reaching, absolutely breathtaking views. Once I'd ambled through a few areas, taking my time and soaking in the history, I came upon an exhibit of the Scottish Crown Jewels. Once learning the history of how they came to be, along with excellent displays, and informative placards, I made my inside. There weren't any photographs allowed, and I understand why, but I can honestly say it wouldn't matter; a photo couldn't do them justice. Every centimeter was astonishing. Finely detailed metal work, with glass and precious gems inlaid, and materials that look nicer than what could be made today. I have to wonder if that's what was made nearly 600 years ago, if we haven't taken a step backwards in craftsmanship... or maybe I just don't have the type of money that let's me see that. Stepping out from the exhibit I realized that along with getting much darker, it had somehow gotten more windy, and although I had had quite the hearty breakfast I was getting hungry. Heading back to my "Kick Ass Hostel," I once again proved my superior navigation skills, not once pulling out my phone for a map on my return. Finding the street market still open, and knowing they had food, I looked at a few stalls to see what might grab my fancy. Naturally the first one that peaked my interest was a cheese and salami booth, and after grabbing a brick of cheese I moved on. Scotland is known for many things, but udon and gyoza isn't one of them, however the smell coming from that stall made up my mind for me. Not only did I get a very filling meal for just a few pounds, but the woman working there even gave me an extra piece of gyoza. Being friendly in exchange for extra food is something I can absolutely get behind. After I'd settled down in the kitchen, I dug in. The flavors were bright with the cilantro and green onion, deep from the pork and sauce that covered the noodles, tangy from the pickled ginger, and just the right amount of spice from their chili sauce. Worth every penny. Fully satiated, and highly satisfied, it's on to the most important part of my day, laundry. Perhaps not the most glamorous part of the trip, but clean clothes are a must, and if there is still time tonight I may just head back to the Camera Obscura, queues or not.Read more