Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Sleep is for the tired

    November 3, 2018 in Scotland ⋅ 🌬 14 °C

    After drawing the curtain on my pod, and curling up to sleep, I finally settled down after my first day in Scotland. When I awoke it was completely dark, and thinking it had to be early, I decided to read for a bit. It wasn't until I heard loud voices in the room that I got the feeling it may be later than I thought, and checking my phone I realized it was already 10:30 in the morning. Clearly I had slept longer than I had thought, but that also means the privacy curtain is also a blackout curtain. I suppose that just means I need the rest. Knowing that breakfast in the hostel is served until a fairly late time, I got ready for the day and headed downstairs. Walking in I scooped up a menu, only to have the person running the place inform me that breakfast had ended. I said fine, but looking at the board on the wall I knew I should still have at least 40 minutes to get something, but I was in no mood to argue. I whipped out my phone and decided to find a place, once again, using Yelp. As quick as could be I came across a place that boasted an all day breakfast, and was nearby too. I headed straight over, and was seated immediately. Of course I had to get a Scottish breakfast, which basically meant that it came with haggis, and as I came to find I quite enjoyed it. Never having eaten haggis before, it's possible it was some americanized version that was made more palatable, but since I don't know for sure I'll just say my was tasty. On my short walk back to home base I came across an outdoor market of sorts with all types of vendors, and after inquiring I learned that they only have this on Saturday's. Having just eaten I knew I wouldn't be getting any food, but boy did it all look great. Exploring further I located a couple of jewelry booths, some with pieces that had been handcrafted in Scotland (so out of my price range), but all with fantastic treasures. None seemed to have quite what I was looking for though, until literally the last stall in the row; there I found I dainty little Scottish thistle charm. Now, it's onward, to see what the rest of my afternoon will hold.Read more