Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    I didn't go far, but I walked a lot

    December 8, 2019 in India ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    I was wrong. Today was a big day, because watching over an 18 month old can't be considered anything less. After waking up, a little earlier than I prefer, I started with a nice meal; I'd need my energy to keep up with a kid. We started by walking, or more accurately, chasing, this rambunctious kid around the grounds of this clinic. After the very real struggle of getting him to eat something (he complied with string cheese), we followed him around walking past all the people who were at the clinic themselves, or who came to pray at the temple. Walking down the path there was a young girl, around his age, and they had the cutest encounter. Seemingly struck by the odd nature of seeing someone their own age and height, they paused, and seconds later they were holding hands. She then took off her bracelet and handed it to him, and he reciprocated with passing her is half chewed cheese. After a swap back for their own belongings, and a wave goodbye, we resumed our walk.

    Across from the pharmacy there is another temple, I think that's what it is anyway since I can't read the sign, and we took off our shoes and entered. Shrinity had clearly been here before with him, and walked around while I watched. As I was taking in what was happening, a man came up and encouraged me to come inside, showing me what to do. I cleansed my face with smoke three times, and then he had me use my ring finger to apply a white powdery sort of paste to my forehead, after that you go part of the way around and bow to a gods feet and pray for, as he said, whatever you want; I went with safe travel heading home.

    It's funny how tired children take on an almost drunken quality and we headed back for an nap with mom. It did not last long. I can't imagine it would though when the honking of cars on the street is clearly audible. Fortunately, Erin was able to join us on this round about going for a nice stroll.

    This isn't going to be all I do today though. I'm taking a car (I'm used to the lifestyle now, it might be a problem when I'm home) and heading to the local mall. I looked it up online and this place is huge! Its four massive floors, and bigger than the one near where I am at home. The air conditioning will be a great perk, but I'm also looking to see what sort of (non western) souvenirs I can get, and most importantly right now a meat based protein as everything here is a vegetable or grain. Maybe not the craziest thing on the books, but it is still an outing in India, and I can't wait to see what I find.
    Read more