Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    An exciting day, without going away.

    December 9, 2019 in India ⋅ 🌙 22 °C

    Listen, I will get to the other details of the day, but first I have to tell you that Srimathy (I have been pronouncing and spelling her name wrong the whole time) brought her 10 day old puppy to visit us, and he was so damn cute. I'll get more in to detail, but I'm still high on puppy cuteness that I couldn't wait.

    Anyway, I went to the canteen for lunch. Because I figured I should just go with the flow, just got the "normal" even though I had no idea, at all, what that entailed. Unfortunately I didn't get a photo because I had left my phone to charge in the room (but I will tomorrow). One of the things that came with the dish is something called pappad, which is a round, puffy, crisped up... something. I don't know, but it was delicious. However delicious it was, it still wasn't as crazy spicy as that burger, and this is where everyone who isn't a patient at the clinic eats.

    Once fed, I watched after Erin's boy for a while with Srimathy, but really, I was counting the minutes until my first ayurvedic massage; and it doesn't get any more authentic than doing it in India. Essentially you sit on a wooden table, and then proceed to massage fire warmed oil in to your scalp and hair, moving to your face, and your back. You then lay on your back, where they proceed to rub oil on to every available inch of skin, making sure not to miss anything. When they do have you turn they wisely assist you because you are now an oil slick; there is a reason that table has edges and it's because I would have slid right off. It is not so much of a massage in the sense that I'm used to, with deep pressure being applied to sore muscles, but relaxing non the less. They then bring you in to the shower, making sure to wipe your feet before you step down, and wash you with some sort of paste with a fine grit to remove the slick oil from your skin. Once you're washed, dried, and dressed they have you sit and rub a powder into your scalp, then they hold it in front of your nose while you inhale deeply three times and it is supposed to keep you from getting a cold. Let's just say that I'm grateful I've done a Turkish bath before, or this could have been difficult, fortunately I was just able to lay back and enjoy it.

    After luxuriating post massage for a bit, I decided to check out the library at the clinic. Not even 60 seconds after stepping through the door I found an Agatha Christie book 'Murder at the Vicarage' and I jumped right in to reading; after all, she is one of my favorite authors.

    Suddenly Srimathy walked though the door, and was pulling out a puppy from her bag. This sweet little thing was so well behaved too, and nestled right in to my neck when I held it. Erin and her son were out walking around, and so she went to get them for the puppy surprise. They were in shock when they walked in to the room, and even though Erin's son loves animals, this was his first time seeing one so small up close. After a bit of warming up, he was petting the puppy lovingly, at least until he had to leave for bed. I gave a few more scritches to the tiny puppy, and he was packed up and out the door.

    Now, for my nighttime adventure. I set off in the direction that I'd seen so many shops the night before, and was somehow still surprised at the hustle and bustle. There were people walking all over the place, cars driving through honking their horns, and motorcycles whizzing by weaving through cars and pedestrian traffic alike. I stayed to the edge of the road for safety, but with them being used to people all over the place I didn't fear getting hit. I continued on until I saw a busy stand selling food and, to really sell the point, pictures on their sign. I was in, although a little apprehensive about the heat that I might encounter. I got myself chicken and rice (very grateful the vendor spoke some English), and although that might sound like a boring meal it was anything but. I also had quite a few people staring at me, my melanin absent skin being a dead giveaway that I was not a local, but they seemed to quickly move along to continue whatever it was they were already doing. Carrying my takeaway bag back with me, gleefully delighted that I'd be having some Indian street food, I passed a tiny stall with about half a dozen people crowded around drinking different colored beverages. The sign wasn't in English, but I thought I'd try my hand at seeing if the owner did. He did not. Though some interpretive hand gestures, I asked him to give me his favorite of whatever it was I was about to try, and he obliged. What ended up being handed to me, well it seemed less than appealing; some yellow/orange mixture with crimson chunks mixed throughout. I paid for my curious drink, and took a sip... and it was great. From what I could deduce, it was a mango yogurt drink with semi fermented chunks of strawberries, and nothing like I'd ever had before. Though I enjoyed it, I'd probably pass on the strawberry bits in the future.

    Getting back to the room, I was ready to dig in my still steaming meal. Uncovering it let out a waft of delicious scents, and I went in for my first tentative bite with water at the ready, in case I couldn't handle the heat. Tasting nothing but an explosion of flavor, with some under notes of spice, I continued chomping away. Even after having my fill there were enough for leftovers the next day.

    Having had a ton of excitement and new experiences, I decided to call it quits, and settled down with just one more chapter of my book. Tomorrow would be a new day, though without a doubt a hot one.
    Read more