Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Fisterre: end of the world

    October 9, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    Although some pilgrims choose to walk the 60 km from Santiago to Finisterre , or Fisterre as it is said in the Galician language, we chose to take a bus and just walked the last 6 km in, which were right by the coast and very beautiful. Although reaching Santiago is the goal of the pilgrimage, Finisterre is considered the end of the Camino, and kilometer marker 0 is found here. It's a beautiful port town, and 3 k past the town there is a lighthouse where one traditionally goes to watch the sunset. So, as good pilgrims, we went out, and it was delightful to sit with so many others and watch the sun go down. I don't really remember the last time I just sat and watched the sunset. There was a someone playing a wooden flute and the atmosphere, although not hushed, was respectful.

    Now it's one more day here, another day in Santiago, then I am spending two days in Madrid to cleanse my palate before flying back to Maine on Friday. The others are taking a day to go up to another port town, Muxia, and then back to Santiago from where they fly home. The Camino has really been everything that I was hoping that it would be, a psychological and physical challenge, and I am very glad that I have done it. However, I am also very much looking forward to being home. I have had enough of packing every morning, walking every day, looking for a bed every night, eating out for meals. I will greatly appreciate being back in my little house, back to work, back to spending time with friends and family. Will I do it again? Maybe; it's a great way to see another country and culture, find out more about yourself and others, and certainly a very economical vacation. But not right away!

    I enjoyed doing this blog; while I was walking I would think about you all as I took pictures and made mental notes about experiences. Thank you for sharing my journey with me and for all of the supportive comments. "Why do you go away? So that you can come back. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving." Hasta llego, and Buen Camino!
    Read more