Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Montana and Idaho

    March 14 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    I left Bozeman and continued on to Butte via backroads with hopes of seeing the Yellowstone Dutton Ranch. Although the ranch was blocked off and I only saw the white barn from a distance, the backroads that lead me here were more than worth it.

    I drove through the Beaverhead and Deerlodge National Forest and had to pinch myself... absolutely breathtaking! I stopped at several pullouts along the road to admire the trees and fresh snow on the ground. As I was driving, I saw my first moose! 🫎 No more than a mile later, I saw a bald eagle sitting on a tree branch right off the road!

    I made a quick stop in Butte and Missoula to stretch my legs before crossing into Idaho. The drive between Montana and Idaho consisted of hairpin turns on mountain passes and I realized how tight I was gripping the steering wheel...

    Relieved to be done with the beautiful yet frightening passes, I arrived in Coeur d'Alene as the sun was setting....such a cute town!
    Read more