Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Little india, singapore

    February 17, 2015 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    Committed the ultimate sin this morning... I went to starbucks for a coffee. I had to, there was no red coffee van at the end of the road, and this was the only option for a vanilla latte.

    Went to mustafa's bazaar. Tacky shit, more tacky shit and some useful tacky shit, the latter of which i bought. I did manage to replace my ailing eyeliner.

    After a couple of hours of retail therapy, I walked around the streets of little india and went to a hawker food centre. These places are a crazy myriad of smell, sound and sight. Follow the crowds for the most popular food or in my case, look for the best banana smoothie lookalike picture. I pointed to a banana lassi only to be told by the proprietor that they were 'out of banana'. I said 'ok thank you anyway' and started to move on only to be stopped by the other owner who said 'no, i go buy you a banana!'. 2 minutes later, i had an 'oh my gosh, that couldn't taste better' banana lassi.

    This evening, i am going to dinner with my friend from the plane and her husband. I have no smart shoes. Bugger. Best go shopping. Bye

    P.s. See the picture of the 'martin shuffle'. This is the singaporean sense of humour (yumour if you're kath) encouraging passengers to move along on train carriages. I'd love it if anyone could physicalise this move and send a video...
    Read more