Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Penang hill and Kek Lok Si Temple

    February 21, 2015 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 32 °C

    Found THE BEST mocha this morning... Very happy.
    Found the bus stop and headed off on the 204 to Penang Hill. I was told great things about this hill at over 800m with a funicular taking yo to the top. However, the view from the top was not as spectacular as i had imagined as it was hazy, and it was rather disneyland-ish. And i hate disney. The sort of place where you can get your photo taken in front of a blue screen and buy it later.
    I then walked 20 minutes to the temple area. Most people seemed to be getting taxis but i like walking... If I hadn't I would have missed the sugar cane juice lady.
    The temple has to be one of the most exciting places I have ever been to. Built in 1890, it is the largest Buddhist Temple in Malaysia and it is huge! You start by navigating through a veritable warren of stalls, like a souk, past a turtle pond and into the temple complex qhixh in itself is a maze of shrines, temples, pagodas and more shops. The view from the main pagoda was great and then I took the little funicular up to a 36m tall bronze statue of Kuan Yin, goddess of mercy. 2 hours well spent even if I was extremely hot by the end of it. Back to town for a banana capri.
    Read more