Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Phitsanulok

    February 25, 2015 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Overnight train went well although not much sleep. It arrived at Phitsanulok at 4.30am... I sat at the train station to wait for the left luggage to open. After an hour, the guard said I could leave my luggage and I was free to explore the town... In the pitch dark. I walked to the main temple, Wat Phra Si Ratana Mahathat and enjoyed watching early morning worshippers lit up by all the gold. Then went for a quick coffee and bun once everything was open and made my way to the Buddha casting workshop. This was very interesting; craftsmen were working on creating the casts ready for he bronze ceremony. It was here that I saw the only other foreigners... Over the road to the folk museum which was very informative and had lots of artefacts including musical instruments.
    Bus to sukhothai (a VERY old mercedes painted in bright colours) was a hour and a half and by the time I arrived I was very hot and tired. Hotel is beautiful though
    Read more