Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    You are not in Kansas anymore Dorothy

    July 29, 2017 in Kenya ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    London -> Dubai-> Nairobi overnight and my feet were ready to hit the ground. Exiting the arrivals hall I am met instantly by Sarah and her pitch. "Lady lady lady my sister, where you go, taxi, you need taxi." And as simple as that Sarah threw the dollars in her pocket and whizzed me and my bag through the crowd of people holding up signs with names on them into the safety of Michael the Christians car. The GPS was stuck circling on the screen and the gospel music was so loud I couldn't here the hum of the traffic alongside me. God willing we will be there in half an hour he said. It wasn't much longer than that so God must have been feeling pretty good today.

    On the way into town I noticed a large open space in the distance with what looked like a giant open aired market. I could see lots of coloured plastic structures and tarps and LOTS of people so I was keen to get a closer look on the way past, only to discover on closer inspection it was a suburb. Probably not a formal one as we know them, but it was clearly a town where people lived and not a market in site. They were all living under makeshift plastic houses and being 6am were all starting to get up and about to start their days.

    Gratefully, my hotel checked me in early, and with an awesome pot of Kenyan coffee under my belt I managed a shower and some shut eye and I am now getting sorted for the start of my tour tomorrow night. Tonight I am going for dinner at Carnivore, a restaurant as the name suggests that involves eating meat, all sorts of it and plenty of it. At the same time I booked a day trip for tomorrow to a local elephant and giraffe sanctuary so by this time tomorrow I would have seen my first African wildlife of this trip (the cat at my table in the restaurant today at lunch doesn't count).

    I just looked out of my room window and saw a group finishing their tour. The Intrepid truck is outside and that, and a small dome tent, will be home for me for the next month. Jambo Kenya, I am here so let's have some fun!
    Read more