Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day one Bali Echo Beach Canggu

    February 20, 2018 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Not sure if I doing this correctly yet I’m a bit confused ! 😂

    Arrived all on time to discover there was no driver here to pick me up at the airport, good job I have been to Bali before as I would have been terrified , waited nearly 2 hours walking up & down the throng of drivers all holding name cards up but nothing for me ! I had airport WiFi so I emailed the hotel URGENT MESSAGE .... 3 days later & they still haven’t Responded 😂😂😂😂

    Finally arranged a taxi for £15 after a lot of Helga shouty to the airport taxi desk ( pay before you travel so no one can rip you off ) next issue was no drivers knew where my hotel was ! what should have been a 30 min drive took well over an hour , the driver was getting arsey , not with me so much but he was stuck In God awful traffic with an irate Brit who had a right Helga face on her & didn’t know where he was going 😂

    Halfway to the hotel my phone rang which was weird as I hadn’t bought a SIM card as yet & it was the hotel calling to say the driver is still waiting for me at the airport ! ....fuming ! Trouble is the Bali people are so gentle & sweet it’s difficult to express annoyance to them .

    I booked this hotel as it clearly states it’s very close to Echo beach ....it is .....however to get there you have to run the gauntlet of stray dogs ! ...of all the animals / reptiles /bugs I was nervous about bumping in to here I didn’t expect to have a problem with dogs !
    One giant poodle like the one off eastenders came charging out of a house & Im Pretty sure he would have had a chunk out me if the owner hadn’t have been there to grab it , I went & had a voddy to calm my nerves 😂only to be have the same problem again on the way home with a different dog, this could have been more problematic as this one was a scabby street dog & there was no one around to help me this time , rabies Is very prevalent here , I just held my breath & looked straight ahead, I was terrified , thankfully it followed me for about 100 yards growling at my heels before it gave up on me .

    So because of the dogs & the fact there are no street lights to the beach where the pub is I holed up here at my hotel last night, I’m checking out today anyway to go to Vila lumbung in seminyak where I have stayed several times before & I know I will feel a lot happier there !
    Read more