Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Overland Track - Summary

    January 24, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Back in civilisation after 6 days of hiking the Overland Track in Tasmania.
    The (very) short version: It was an amazing, memorable and truely unique experience. My feet hurt (but no blisters), I am tired and exhausted, but I'm coming back with many, many good memories, new friends, new experiences, appreciation of amenities like hot showers, light switches, proper beds and toilets closeby (yes, a true reminder of Zeltlager in the Jachenau... it's been a while, but the experiences from back then came in handy once again), many moskito bites and so many pictures in my head.
    More to come - but for now: I'm back, clean, tired at Launceston airport, waiting for my 2hrs delayed flight to Melbourne where I will spend some more hours of this night before heading to Queenstown. New Zealand is next - but I have tons to digest. Thanks to Ana, Anne, Jenny, Scott, Lisa, Penny and our amazing guides Samson and Ryder who made this trip so special. I really hope to keep in touch.

    Off-topic, but still somehow present right now. While I was not impacted by the Amazon layoffs, some dear colleagues have been impacted. I was and still am devastated by some of the news I saw only today and am still processing. Thinking of all of you and wishing you all the very best. It is such a bummer to see you go and hard to believe... Let me know if there is anything I can do!
    Read more