Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    All and everything

    January 30, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    What a gorgeous day…

    Started early - after I managed to ‘escape’ out of my hostel following a little fight with the door, coffee in the only bakery in Wanaka open before 7am - in the middle of an industrial area, main customers construction workers who all asked me what I was up for and then off to hit the trail to Isthmus Peak. I opted for it over Rob Roy (that’s the one EVERYONE does with the famous pics in the middle of nowhere) - just because not everyone does it ;-)
    Lots of sweat, quite steep, but so worth it… and given that it was the first over 1000meter elevation hike since this COVID (booster) disaster, I’m pretty proud. 3hrs up (finishing another audiobook), encountering 5 other people, lots of water (sweating out and getting back into my body) - and gorgeous views over Lake Wanaka and Lake Hawea…

    Back down in the summer heat, grateful for my poles in those steep sections - and back at the car park, I had a blister (none during the Overland Track, btw!!) 🤨

    Anyways… the drive was along water, waterfalls and I got a (quick) swim at the Blue Pools. Freeeeeeezing, but gooooood… more waterfalls… helping a mom recover her baby’s pacifier (and safe her night), views - and all of a sudden the scenery changed from dry, yellowish mountains to green. And the weather changes.. back to drizzle and rain for now…

    Closing the day at a pub called The Hard Antler… and yes… the name is what you get… in addition to huuuge sized portions.

    That’s it… goodnight… let’s keep fingers crossed that the rain and wind goes away overnight - tomorrow is helicopter-glacier day 🚁🏔️🧊

    No major learnings today… just happiness and gratefulness… today had a bit of everything…
    Read more