Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Short version

    February 10, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    I‘m too tired for a long version - it‘s past 9:30pm after all 😂 (yes, my holiday schedule is different 😉):

    - Tongariro Alpine crossing ✅
    - amazing hike with no (!) rain, but it was windy and cloudy at times
    - I even ended it with a short sprint to make it to the early shuttle 🥵
    - I did not see Frodo, Gollum or Sauron - but felt close at times
    - nobody in NZ seems to drink coffee after 3pm. Still not my schedule!
    - probably the coldest day today - I was close to getting out my gloves. But they may remain unworn during this trip.
    - found Gollum‘s pool - but he was out
    - amazing dinner in Taupo - after that disaster yesterday I had more options and succeeded in finding a really good spot.
    - final trip planning for my last full day - full in terms of full 24hrs AND pretty packed.
    - Auckland tomorrow evening and unless cyclone Gabrielle hits early (Air New Zealand already sent me a warning email and invited me to rebook to a later flight), tomorrow will be my last night in NZ 😳

    But for now: Goodnight!! 😴
    Read more