Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Auckland

    February 12, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    So, I spent the last couple of hours in Auckland - in rainy and stormy weather in a city that just recovered from a flood and now got ready for a cyclone. To cut it short - it was uneventful 🤷‍♀️
    I strolled through the city, along the water, was in a weird mood anyways.
    Every city on the coast has it’s own charm - and so has Auckland - but it probably could not win…

    I went on a final walk up to Mount Eden - with a closed top, and, me trying to take a shortcut, all of a sudden slipping and kneeling in the mud. But despite the weather, there were some nice views over the city.

    From there, a last drive along some beaches and then heading back to the airport, hoping Gabrielle would not stop me from flying home. And it did not. While Air New Zealand canceled all international flights out of Auckland on Monday and Tuesday - the Sunday flights went out and I was probably on one of the last ones to leave…

    Goodbye New Zealand - it was a pleasure and I need to come back for sure - toooo many places I did not have them for…

    Souvenir Highlight: As some know, I have a little collection of Starbucks mugs. But the prior version - I stopped with the new design (and actually don’t have space for new ones anyways). However - seems as if NZ is a bit behind on the transition - and I need to make room now for a new mug ☺️
    Read more