Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Travel Day 2: Le Jet Lag

    May 15, 2023 in France ⋅ 🌧 61 °F

    I made it to Paris! The flight was LONG but calm and on time. Drizzly today, so the souvenir shops are doing a brisk business in umbrellas, but I am ever aware of my pack weight on the trail ahead and didn’t shop at all. More sight-seeing tomorrow before I head south.
    1. My hotel is adorable. The view from my window seems very Parisian to these American eyes.
    2. Notre Dame is a veritable hive of reconstructive activity, swathed in scaffolding and cranes. Fortunately the gargoyles continue their work on this corner.
    3. Charlemagne et sus Leudes, next to Notre Dame. I’m thrilled to be walking on his path in a few days! Brass playing friends, note the olifant on Roland’s belt.
    4. I fear the photo doesn’t do it justice, but this is at Square René Viviani. I’m glad to be here for spring lushness.
    5. I had my vegetarian dinner here. I wish my veg friends had been with me! The chocolate mousse for dessert didn’t photograph well but reader, I moaned. It was delicious.
    6. So many bridges!
    Read more