Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 3: Roncesvalles to Viscarret-Guerend

    May 20, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 43 °F

    Mileage: 8 miles
    Elevation gain: 699 feet
    Elevation loss: 2479 feet
    Weather: cool and breezy, overcast until the very end

    I am SORE today from the mountains! Quads and calves in particular were not interested in today’s downhill adventures. I had planned a short day, fortunately, and I knew that I couldn’t check in to tonight’s guest house until 1:00, so I took it really slow and enjoyed the views.

    I had breakfast at the albergue. Cake again! I sat next to the same French woman as last night. She’s probably in her 70s and started her Camino in Le Puy, France 36 days ago! Inspiring.

    Today’s walk was bucolic - lots of forest again plus rolling farmland. Another day with a cowbell soundtrack. It was cool enough that I was glad to have my gloves and hood on most of the day, but that really is excellent walking weather!

    1. As proud as I am to have walked over the Pyrenees (!) the last two days, I left this morning to this reminder that I have a long way to go yet!
    2. and 3. Views of the morning
    4. 5. and 6. Espinal-Aurizberri. Lots of bicycles zipping down that road.
    7. A tough hill but so pretty
    8. Another kind of cathedral
    9. So many wildflowers right now
    10. Near Viskarret
    Read more