Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Day 23: Sahagùn to El Burgo Ranero

    June 9, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 55 °F

    Mileage: 11.25 miles
    Altitude gain: 433 feet
    Altitude loss: 292 feet
    Weather: cool, cloudy, windy, and once again rainy after I arrived at my destination
    Total mileage: 275 miles

    Doesn’t El Burgo Ranero sound like a Spanish fusion restaurant in Texas?

    Another austere day on the meseta, made even more so with the almost fall-like weather. (I am NOT complaining about the weather, as anything is better than 90+ degrees!) Once again I was glad to have split up guidebook stages to have shorter stages, and I’m seeing some of the same people every day, so I’m not the only one. Not as much of interest to report today, but overall it was a good day on the Camino, and I’m happy to be resting at my albergue.

    1. Arco San Benito in Sahagún
    2. Puente Canto on the way out of Sahagún
    3. Ria Cea from the bridge
    4. The path out of Sahagún was quite lovely
    5. Most of today was next to a highway
    6. I’ve seen a lot of this kind of construction in villages today. Makes our lath and plaster house look new-fangled!
    7. Grain field with ominous clouds
    8. Quite a few cyclists today.
    9. I didn’t know where I would stay tonight until I got here, but this albergue is a little oasis!
    10. Storks? in their huge nests on the steeple, which is common.
    Read more