Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    San cristobal de las casas

    June 7, 2022 in Mexico ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    San Cristobal.

    Before I arrived here I was deeply unsure weather I should make this stop since I had heard many stories of people getting parasites or some other form of sever illness. Due to a contaminated water supply caused by Coca-Cola taking most of the regions drinking water, water is often recycled. This means strictly do not consume any tap water by accident or on purpose, including brushing teeth and showering.

    Fortunately I decided to go nonetheless, and San cristobal still has been one of my favourite stops to date.

    I spent a week here but could've easily doubled this if it wasn't for the excellent group of people who I'd end up travelling with for 3 weeks.

    To start, the city is located in the Chiapas region, the cheapest area of Mexico. Travelling on a budget this is incredibly appealing. Coupling this with the plethora of activities near by and the excellent hostel I stayed at it was a shame to leave.

    Being the cheapest region of Mexico, it allowed me to do more in my days, but also because I found a great group, I loved my time here.

    The best bonus was that while my hostel only cost £9 per night, it included a free breakfast, cooked snack and dinner, as well as free cocktails twice weekly.

    Since then, many people have stated that they believe the hostel was a money laundering front for the Cartel, but I won't complain.
    Read more