Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Antigua

    June 21, 2022 in Guatemala ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    My second stop in Guatemala, Antigua is a small city know for being popular amongst backpackers primarily for the nearby volcano, Acetenango.

    Unfortunately, when I arrived here I was ill. I'm unsure if this was a cold or from accidentally consuming some lake water, so when my group went on the Volcano hike I declined the option to recover.

    I still really enjoyed my time here and it was nice to get some alone time to rest for 2 days. The city has some incredibly large markets which sell anything from knock off dvds and clothes to tooth paste and dog food.

    Here is where I had to say goodbye to most of the friends I recently met. I still had a few great nights here, especially the final evening together where we splashed out at a highly rated restaurant. I always Planned to come back here anyway and tick the volcano off the list.
    Read more