Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 71

    Leon - Nicuaragua

    July 26, 2022 in Nicaragua ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    A grueling day/nights travel via night bus with a tediously long border crossing later and I arrived in Leon, Nicuaragua.

    Although there wasn't a huge deal to do within the city I definitely made the most of it.

    On my second day we had a local walking tour where the guide explained what seemed like the entire history of Nicuaragua as well as showing us some of the local sights and markets. At the end of the tour he took us to a secluded courtyard and described what he thought were the main issues with his country's leadership. This was very non-typical due to the controlling communist government which wouldn't hesitate to jail him for simply speaking out against them.

    Later we went volcano boarding. A 45 minute hike upwards followed by a rapid descend down. Although I had heard this was dangerous, all the previous people before me didn't appear to go very fast so I thought I'd try for the no. 1 position.

    Typically you are supposed to sit half upright to go slow but I decided that of I laid horizontally it would be more fun.

    I ended up flying off the board twice, sliding unaided for 10-15 metres for both falls. Apparently I was going so fast the camera man missed me.

    In the speedometer I was clocked at 75km/h but I definitely was going faster before falling off the first time.

    Good fun but also very stupid.
    The video is me after my second fall.
    Read more