Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 2 -France

    April 30, 2023 in France

    No surprise!The Toronto-Paris, red-eye flight was 35 minutes late, so I missed my connecting flight to Biarritz. Luckily, I was rescheduled three hours later and made it there with my luggage in tow. So, all is good
    Right now, I’m in Bayonne, a Basque community in southern France, and tomorrow I’ll be taking a two-hour train to St. Jean Pied-de-Port where the serious walking begins.
    I’ve already met a few pilgrims heading, like me, to St. Jean. In fact, at the airport I teamed up with a couple from Nashville who shared a taxi with me to get to their hotel. We both were unable to access Wifi on our phones, so I went to their hotel hoping to get a room, but no luck. Their hotel was completely booked; however, I was able to get a room at the hostel just up the road. That is where I am now. I did take a few photos, but I’m unable to download them on this app. It’s Sunday afternoon here and I’ve noticed two things: Many families are out walking together, and many others, like I was earlier, are carrying a backpack while pushing a suitcase.
    I think I’ll crash earlier tonight. I don’t sleep well on planes or at airports - not a good situation for someone who has been at either one or the other for 36 hours.
    Read more