Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Day 17. Rest Day in Burgos

    May 15, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Instead of going for a long walk today, I played the role of tourist. A rest day allowed for the exploration of Burgos, once the capital of old Castile for almost 500 years and home of El Cid, a great Spanish warrior and hero during the 11th century.
    The most prominent structure in Burgos is the cathedral, built in 1221, but not completed until 1567. I did a tour of the cathedral, and as on person commented on in addition to its beauty “this place is a city in itself, with roads everywhere.” It’s that big. It’s known for its spectacular architecture, unique art collection, including paintings, tombs and stained-glass windows. I spent three hours there. I had hoped to see some museums, but they were closed on Mondays.
    I’m going to keep this one short because the photos speak much better than any words I could wield together.
    Read more