Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Nearly swindled

    January 21, 2020 in Myanmar ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Got approached by a 'friendly traveller from Malaysia' who wanted to show me around Yangon. Me being the oblivious person I was agreed. He first took me to a Colonial building, which was under construction. Afterwards he called his friend and asked him to meet him. We met him on the way to a ferry which took us to a small island. On the small island he asked to motorcycle drivers to take us around for 'free'. Our first stop was a small village that had apparently been devastated by a tsunami. I bought into this story. Next they took me to a rice store where, rice would be 'donated' to the victims. 60000 kyat per bag or 40USD, bloody expensive. I offered 5000 as a donation, both him and the store owner seemed displeased. Unfortunately it took me this long to see the signs of a swindle. Went to a few temples and a then lunch. During lunch I researched scams happening around the area, and it seemed I was in the midst of one. Paid for half the lunch, and calmly and immediately asked them to go back. When we arrived at the ferry they told me the price for the rental of the motorcycles, 35000kyat or 24USD per bike. I acted furious and caused a scene. I ended up paying 5000 kyat to my driver. I screamed at the two scammers and boarded the boat back to the main land and never saw them again. Got scammed, lesson learned.
    The scam is called the Dala Island scam.
    Read more