Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Trier to Hayange (119km, 1600m)

    June 8, 2017 in France ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    It was pretty bad weather today I left around 9:30 after a buffet breakfast and took some for lunch. It was a bit crap getting out of Trier it was a main road and roadworks but once I got off that hill I went up some quiet roads. In one town it was 18% I did a bit of climbing first up, about 750m in the first 25-30km so it was pretty tough but amazing scenery I almost got emotional! But then there was intermittent showers all day, I had to keep stopping and sheltering and it was a headwind all day. At the 85km mark I decided to use google maps to get straight to my air BnB but it was going to take me on main roads so I tried navigation on bikemaps and I ended up on a really gravel so turned around to ride back and tried google maps and it took me back the same way and when I eventually got into some roads I ended up on a main road with no shoulder, it was horrible. Then when I got into a town there was roadworks everywhere then I got out there and it took me on a dirt track that didn't lead to where it wanted me to go so had to redirect again. When I was 1.5km away my phone died and my backup battery didn't work for some reason. So I waved at a guy in a car and he didn't speak English but knew the street I needed to go to. I tried to charge my phone in his car but it took too long. He found another guy to translate and it ended up he said he would direct me in his car and I followed him, it was so nice. Valerie was lovely my host, but didn't speak English she drove me to the supermarket as well.Read more