Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Arrival

    November 5, 2021 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 20 °C

    Early flight starting in London to Toronto, then to Orlando. All smooth there except for a bit of turbulence during the Orlando flight. When I got to Orlando it was pouring rain, I have to admit after seeing the little bit of snow this week at home I was really hoping to walk off the plane to some sunshine, but that feels kind of petty to admit lol
    I check in to my hotel, which is cheap accommodation and you definitely get what you pay for haha... its only reasonably clean and its definitely run down, but whatever. I had to switch rooms so I could get wifi because I had no connection where the put me and work requires me to check in a bit since I'm "working" here haha...
    I had made sure I had a bit of time before my first shift at Give Kids the World Village (gktw) to make sure I could get a few groceries and settle a bit. I knew there was a Walmart just down the road so I thought that would be convenient because I did not rent a car for the trip. Its maybe a 10 min walk and its still raining, even with my umbrella I get soaked, my feet especially.
    Walmart had all kinds of small sized prepackaged snack packs that are perfect for the stupid way I eat lol so I was excited about that, will be so easy for me to pack my meals for my full days at gktw etc...
    When I get back to the hotel I tried to dry my shoes, but the hair dryer in the room didn't work lol
    When I needed to head out for my first shift it was practically monsooning so I called a cab, probably a good choice for my first trip there since it was dark already and I had never been there even though I basically knew where to go, it was likely safer this way lol
    When I got there I checked in for the 5k run the next morning and got my number, I also met a couple lovely volunteers there who offered to give me a ride to gktw in the morning for the race rather than walk in the rain, so thankful!
    My first shift was at the Once Upon a Village Party, its a pirate and princess party, very cute. I ran the pirate craft table making eye patches and treasure maps with the kids! Loved it 😁
    I chatted with some of the other volunteers as well its nice to see how many people fall in love with the place and can't stop coming back.
    I walked back to my hotel after and it is a bit of a sketchy walk at night lol there isn't sidewalk for the whole walk and its a pretty busy road, oh well I brought a flashlight lol
    Still raining of course.
    I was so cold and wet when I got back, my phone had died and the power in the room just barely charges for some reason. I was so ready to get some rest!
    Getting picked up at 5:50 in the morning 🤦‍♀️ lol
    Read more