Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 163

    Let's add some wind to that coldness

    July 29, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    My goodness it is windy! We got up this morning freezing and I sat for a good ten minutes warming my hands and feet on the small heater we have. I don't think the room is helped by the fact it's been empty for a week. Today's plan after feeling rubbish last night was to head to use computers and apply for some jobs. I was delighted by the fact our Airbnb has a microwave so I could heat up my Portuguese style custard tart for breakfast. It was heavenly! We headed out later than we wanted because we were so reluctant to get out of bed when it was so cold and because we spent half an hour talking to one of the girls who lives in the house. When we left it was even colder outside because of the wind. It was crazy! My hair was flying everywhere as were leaves, branches and rubbish. I've never seen wind like it so Melbourne weather is turning out to be great! The first computer place we walked to was rather annoying because after 20 minutes my computer froze, as did another so we decided to try another shop. Their computers weren't working but she suggested the library. The library let's you access them for an hour so we both did this and I managed to apply for one job and Nick for three and these were just aimed at us individually. It was then after leaving the library and after a coffee and a little cry that we realised we'd enjoy it more if we were working together. I'd seen couple of farms offering au pair positions and farm work for your partner. We decided this would suit us better as we can live together and work at the same time. We headed back to the first shop where one computer works and together completed our application but it took right up until the shop closed. Nick planned a sneaky surprise treat for afterwards and we walked for half an hour to a gelato shop on a street full of Italian resturants. The owner actually went to study at university in Italy gelato making and it was the best ice cream I have ever had. We went for salted caramel and white chocolate with mint and got two huge spoon fulls for under £4! It was such a lovely treat. The place was so popular, people came in ordering litre tubs of their ice cream! The rest of the evening included food shopping and cooking dinner. Hopefully tonight won't be as cold!Read more