Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 171

    Time to blog weekly

    August 6, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 10 °C

    Blogging daily when working all the time just isn't going to be possible so I've taken the decision to blog every Sunday about our week. This week it's just about the 3 days since we arrived here on the farm. On Friday we have a brilliant lie in and woke up feeling refreshed and ready to read our contracts. We set up on the sofa and began reading the 75 pages. It was intense and hard work getting through it all. Eventually I had a call from Bruce asking if I could come with him to collect Cassidy from nursery so I could be introduced to the staff and talked through the process. It was a bit daunting to realise I am actually going to be responsible for 2 children most of the week but the nursery staff are very supportive and welcoming. Cassidy was also super happy to see her dad and myself collect her which was exciting. I feel she's warming to me which is comforting. Later that evening we headed over to sign the contracts and had a chat through the all the health and safety which was mainly aimed at Nick. We took reading home and Nick got equipped with his warm protective gear to wear. The next day we woke up at 5:30am to be ready to start work at 7. I usually will start at 6:45am but for the first day we agreed to come at 7. The house has a dog which I'm a little annoyed about because we weren't told that and I'm bad with dogs but it seems to be okay with me. The first day was exhausting for both of us. It's so tiring playing all day and trying to get housework done at the same time that I think it'll take a few days if not weeks to get use to a routine that let's me manage both well. Nick found his role very physically demanding but both of us felt the day flew by so at least our shifts don't drag by. It'll take a while to get use to suddenly working so hard and long days. We've earnt such a good amount of money from just 3 days and Nick was cheeky enough at our contract meeting to secure another dollar an hour pay by flipping a coin with Bruce over the price. Cassidy is off preschool for both Saturday and Sunday so these past couple of days have been a good chance to bond with her. The second day went so much better and I began to settle into the position more. Nappies and nap time are a battle with her but I think they are with most 2 and a half year olds. The views from he farm of the mountains are incredible. Everyday at sunrise and sunset it blows you away how different and beautiful the view is. We do feel very tired already and most nights go to bed between 8:30pm and 9pm so we have enough rest and sleep to be up early the next day. We are also ensuring we eat a good breakfast everyday to help power us through until the end of the shift. Overall we both feel very overwhelmed by the sudden change of lifestyle but we are positive that it'll get better and that this will be a great time for us to earn back some money and to be part of a family and community.Read more