Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 192

    Sunrises make getting up early better

    August 27, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    So many pictures of sunrises on my phone this week! Everyday when I step out the door at 6:40am the beautiful sky has just blown me away this week. It's such a beautiful bonus to waking up early when you get to experience such a view as you walk to work. Nick had a nice surprise at the start of the week because on my day off I borrowed the Challenger, the farm car, to visit Timaru and he came home from work to a bag of presents and a homemade lasange. I'd made lasange for Candy and Bruce and I could tell how jealous he was so I decided he deserved a treat. It was amazing, I've so missed home cooked dishes such as this so it was great being able to have a taster of home. Eliza is developing so quickly and this week she has started pulling herself up on furniture. In a matter of 3 weeks she has learnt to sit up, crawl and now pulling herself to standing. I don't think it'll be long until I'm calling Candy insisting she comes home to see her walking. I've spent time with Cassidy doing activities such as collecting leaves, pine cones and stones to paint with and on. We have also visited the playground which had a swing that could support Eliza and she loved it. I was able to send such a cute video to Candy of her enjoying the swing which helped brighten up her day. I'm learning to balance activities and playing with housework and making dinner. It's always hard to know if everything you are doing is okay and enough but I did get the best praise off Cassidy this week. She was sat with her dad at the table and said "Daddy, Charlotte's good" out of the blue. It was such amazing cute feedback and really boosted me to thinking I'm doing a good job. Nick used his days off to go and relax at the swimming pool which involved driving on his own for the first time since we got here. He found it daunting but he managed to do it which means he isn't so restricted on days off. We treated ourselves to a Chinese takeaway that night. The idea of it was definitely better than the food but it was nice having a treat. The chips were amazing so I'm sure we'd be going there again just for the chips , if nothing else. We got paid this week and cannot believe how much we have both earnt, I got the most out of all the workers! It's really the cherry on top of the cake that this job should set us up financially for our time travelling in New Zealand which is amazing. Although it's tiring we both are loving our jobs and time here and I'm so pleased we managed to get these positions. It couldn't be working out better really.Read more