Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 213

    We have kittens!

    September 17, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    On Wednesday of this week, Lucy the cat gave birth to 5 kittens in the dog Tikka's bed. It shows how safe she feels around Tikka to have them while in her bed. I received a text from Bruce that morning saying I'm going to love it when I get here. I instantly thought Cassidy had destroyed something and I had something horrible to clean up but to my happy surprise it was kittens instead. Two looked very weak and were lying away from their mum so we got a large box and lined it with towels and hot water bottles and brought them inside. Luckily they have a large cupboard in their house so we are keeping the kittens and Lucy in there so that they have some time and privacy from Cassidy for the start of their lives. This week has been pretty cool for me. Bruce came home briefly before saying he has to help Jono birth a cow. Usually this can be done alone but if there are problems it sometimes needs two of them. Eliza was asleep and he was happy for me to leave her and invited me to come and watch. Cassidy and I rode in his truck to the cow who was sat down at this point. Bruce had a feel but soon realised they needed her to stand up to be able to get the calf out. They used a tractor to lift her and after lots of feeling around and times when both had their arms inside her together up to their shoulders they soon realised there were two calves in there and one is trying to come out bottom first which is causing the problem. It was amazing to watch. Cassidy found it a little overwhelming at times and stood behind me at points or went to sit in the truck. Eventually after half an hour or so the first calf was pulled out shortly followed by the second. Both were dead unfortunately and Bruce did say it's one of the worse births he's had this season so has promised to invite me to see a more straight forward one where the calf is likely to live. Being out on the farm seeing what goes on was so nice for me when I barely see any side of it. Nick's pretty jealous too! On one of Nick's days off he surprised me by making me a quiche, my favourite and most craved meal! It was amazing and he even made his own pastry because he accidently bought sweet pastry. In return I made teriyaki salmon for us on my day off although it wasn't my idea because Nick had bought the ingredients when shopping so I can't take my credit. I also visited a school fate with Candy and the girls on Saturday afternoon which was pretty cool and nice to go out and do things together. We also had a nice coffee date on our day off so we got to sit down and talk without me technically working. It's been a pretty cool week for doing things and playing with kittens. I doubt how long we can keep the kittens from Cassidy because Lucy did move the kittens into the garage roof while Candy took Cassidy to preschool and Candy and I spent ages trying to find them. We've moved them back but we feel Lucy isn't happy there so we might have to give in and let her take them where she wants to.Read more