Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 448

    Headaches suck

    May 10, 2018 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    We've had a very low key day today because I woke up to my headache being incredibly bad and on the verge of a migraine level. The pain had gone to behind my eye and down by face to my ear and even blinking was now hurting. It was clear we needed to head back to a pharmacy to get some stronger pain killers. Nick was amazing and as I led there trying to find some position where my head hurt less he dealt with dismantling the bed as well as all the other jobs that need doing before we can drive off. We were one of the last vehicles to leave but luckily the DOC don't seem to mind what time you do vacate the area. We drove to Te Anau pretty much in silence apart from the occasional mention of a nice view or a rainbow that came out for us. Light and sound were starting to hurt quite a lot so the silence helped. The doctor at the pharmacy gave me some strong migraine tablets and advised me to also drinkn an energy drink. After only 15 minutes or so it felt as if the tablet was starting to work which was a huge relief. We went and had some pies and drinks in a cafe we visited last time we were in town, basically spending time waiting to see if the pill worked. We haven't had signal for two days either so we spent time catching up on messages and things. A couple of hours passed and the headache had just become a minor normal headache so that was a relief and I felt up to having a shower which was our main aim for today. The town offers $5 showers for 8 minutes which isn't too bad for a nice shower. Feeling refreshed we said goodbye to Te Anau and headed to Lumsden where our freedome camping spot was going to be for the night. Feeling sorry for ourselves and the uninteresting day we'd had we went to a restaurant across the road for tea and had some pretty hefty burgers. I took the second migraine tablet with the hope it will go for good and this seemed to help again and I felt up for playing some games tonight. Despite it being a terribly mundane day, when you're feeling awful it just has to be done really.Read more