Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 664

    Sailing across the bays

    December 12, 2018 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Nick did extensive research into which tour we should take around the Bay of Islands and it definitely paid off. We went on an excellent tour on an old sailing ship with only 8 other people. We set sail from Russell at 10am, initially using the engine because there was little to no wind at that time. The boat was beautifully made and the operators of the tour were such friendly open people. Despite the initial cloudy weather we ended up with a day of sunshine and we very naively didn't put sun cream on. Luckily the guys had some we could borrow. It was so peaceful crusing along the waves towards large islands in the distance. After an hour or two we came to the first island we could stop at. It had a few boats already docked there and we were told it's the most popular to day trip to. There was even a hostel boat where guests can stay in dorms over night. As cool as it sounded it turns out they pretty much have an all night party on board so it definitely isn't our thing. The crew made the decision to cruise around to another island instead of mooring here. We entered a beautiful bay with turquoise waters, a white sand beach and rocky forest as the backdrop. It was something off a postcard that's for sure. In groups of 4 or less we were transferred over to the shore on a small inflatable boat. We had the option to go snorkelling, swimming, kayaking or hiking up to a view point. I decided I wanted to visit the view point so as Nick got changed ready for a swim instead, I began a very steep climb up into the trees. The forest was buzzing with life and I saw so many Tui and Tomtit birds flying around. Eventually after getting very hot for the climb I came to an area of benches which looked down on the Bay below. The trees have fully taken over though and you can't see as much as you once could I imagine. It was still beautiful. We'd been told of a second view point over the other side of the hill I was now on so I carried on the path to find this one. As I stood on the benches I could see an amazing view of all of the islands out in front of me. The water looked so inviting and blue from this height. I spent so long admiring it that birds started to get use to my presence and were swooping and diving all around me. It was quite a magical moment. I dragged myself away and began to descend down to the bay. When I got back I couldn't see Nick at first but eventually I realised he was out kayaking. I watched as he explored nearby rocks and shorelines. It was so peaceful just sitting on the beach listening to the waves rolling and the wind blowing through the trees. Soon came the time to go back to the boat and on board we were served an amazing chicken salad for lunch. It was so good and it's definitely something I will try to replicate when we are home. After some drinks we hoisted the sail because the wind had picked up and began our journey back to Russell. On the way we just so happened to catch up to a dolphin tour boat and as we sailed past saw the pod of bottlenose dolphins swimming in the waves. As we watched we happened to see one jump high out of the water which was just incredible. Our ship doesn't have a license to stay and watch the dolphins so all we could do was sail past so I'm pleased we got to see that moment before we carried on. We had to wait for the wind to be strong enough and in the right direction before sailing into Russell's harbour which did make this journey back drag a little but it was relaxing to just be out on the open water. After such an awesome day we made pizzas for tea, did laundry and packed our bags ready to venture back down south tomorrow. Nick's been plastering on the aftersun all evening on his legs which are now glowing pink after his half an hour kayak. He won't forget to cover them up next time that's for sure!Read more