Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Deutsches Museum #1

    January 27, 2020 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 3 °C

    The German Museum is huge. I go immediately after my first day of language school. There are actually three buildings. Maybe Germany just has too much history and every museum needs three buildings. I don't know, but it seems likely Right now.

    I've heard over and over that the German Museum is incredible and it really takes days to go through. Turns out they're right. The Deutches Museum I visit is dedicated to the history of technology, which includes the history of mining in Germany - since the first time coal was ever mined in Germany - the history of power - since power was people pushing things until today - astronomy, surveying, flight, marine history, and then there is the Akademie collection which includes the telescope that identified Neptune. There's also a cafe, with an incredible exhibit on .... coffee..

    There's also huge sections on nanotechnology, technology inventions and more - yet most of this goes over my head. Tell me about cars and trucks and travel patterns and housing and it makes sense to me. Other people can be experts in Nanotech. I'm just happy I caught a power exhibit with raw lightning shooting over faraday cages.
    Read more