Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    New Mexico!

    April 26, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    After Amarillo, like the coin decided for me, i wanted to head a bit more south. That’s what i was going to do... i guess. So ofcourse i started to doubt if this would be the right choice, i decided to just get on the road and take my little tank just a little bit towards Albuquerque and see if my mind is actually making up its mind. While on the road, I noticed that there was a really strong wind pushing me to the south, and even big trucks did not seem to keep their position on the road very well, so i had to get off the main road for a while, next to the freeway. While i was driving a more comfortable 45 mph, i saw a sign on the road telling me that i was on the good old Route 66 once more!. After driving for a while i saw a person standing next to the road, with a huge backpack on, and a cardboard saying Albuquerque... In a split decision i decided to take this guy in, and also decided in that instance, that i could probably also drive to Albuquerque and then head south as the coin decided for me.
    This really nice guy turned out to be hitchhiking across the USA for about a year after graduation, and it was fun having some good company during the drive! The drive to Albuquerque was really showed that the climate was changing, and the view changed more into a desert area, with big mountains in the background. When we reached a town about 60 miles from my final destination, we both went our own way.. probably after letting him listen to some classic happy hardcore songs from Europe did the trick haha.
    After arriving on a city campground, which ofcourse had plenty of RVs around, but no people, who could have guessed!, i decided to stick around in New Mexico for a couple of days, as there are many great places to visit in this State.

    Next morning, i found out that my refrigerator died on me last night, so before i can head out, i will have to visit a repair shop to get this thing sorted out, but this gives me some time to write this blog, so all is fine!

    See you later!

    Eric
    Read more