Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 19: Skopje

    November 1, 2023 in North Macedonia ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Today, I've been exploring the city center of Skopje. As Skopje is not very known for city trips, I didn't have an idea what to expect from this city, honestly. But I was wrong; my (barely existing) expectations definitely have been exceeded!

    I started my day with the visit of the Old Bazar, which completely surprised me. This quarter has so many things to offer, such as cozy cafés, restaurants and shops. Strolling through the alleys was definitely fun!

    My second stop today has been the Fortress of Skopje, just a couple of minutes away from the Bazar. The entrance to the fortress has been free of charge, the only thing was, that it has been "at own risk", as it was written...

    As last part of the day, I passed at the modern city center, where also many shops are located.

    I need to admit, that I had certain concerns about North Macedonia before I came. After todays experience, I'm convinced from the opposite. The locals are very friendly, starting conversations just on the street and letting you feel welcomed in their country.
    Someone even asked my "why are you visiting Macedonia?". Well, from tourism aspect, the country is still developing but exactly that's the charm of it. Tomorrow I'll visit the country side and I'm already curious about seeing more of North Macedonia!
    Read more