Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Waimate and history

    February 23 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Great weather here in Waimate. Normal kind of start to my camper life morning. It was time to do some washing. I had sussed out the place yesterday when I walked into town. Finding the "bra bag" was a mission. I know I packed it. Five cupboards and even the boot I found it..!! It is in the soap powder bag for next time!
    I have used the laundromat in Invercargill to wash duvet and thought (hoped) it would be the same franchise. Sadly no and had to buy another card for $3. Fine if I get to use it again and of course it is like gift cards will I use the balance? I was surprised at the cost. $9 for a 18kg wash. By the time I had fluffed around sorting it - no 18 kg washers. Do I wait 11 minutes for one to finish or do I use the two 8 kg ones? Opted for the 8 kgs and it cost a buck more - which wasn't a problem to get moving. Washing in and then back to the camper to watch a service for an Air Force lass. Amazing that we can watch the service in real time with modern phones/internet.
    Then back to pop washing in the drier. Managed with the 25 minute cycle. The lady helping thought I would need more. It was light and I look forward to fresh sheets tonight.
    I then had a bit of a drive around Waimate.
    At 2pm I had arranged to meet Edwina . For those genealogy ladies following me, she did talks with Jan Gower so very knew what she was talking about. She said Jan is in care now with dementia. Sad to hear about such a knowledgeable person.
    The results of the meeting were as I expected and only leads to follow up in looking for my David Smith.
    It was good to see they still had my two Smith books I had donated and even some letters. One from Nancy Wills even.
    Lots of history around the streets here. A few pics. More tomorrow.
    Supermarket for a few things. Now time for drinks. Think I will stay another night.
    Read more