Satellit
Visa på kartan
  • Dag 27

    Kaikoura

    8 mars, Nya Zeeland ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    I left Christchurch this morning with mixed feelings. Sad to leave my family that had been so good to me, but pleased to be on the road again. Didn't catch up with everyone I wanted too.
    Interesting driving. When you are in the Motorhome Assn we all have "wings" and when travelling it is recommended that you wave to the person when you see a vehicle with wings on their vehicle. Some complain on the motorhome pages they don't get "waves". Today I got loads of waves. Could be that they are easy to see because Winny replaced them on the front of my camper so very easily spotted.
    I do pull over when a few cars are behind me and slow down in the passing lanes so everyone can get past me. We are only allowed to go at 90k. There was a queue of traffic at one stage and I could see a vehicle a few ahead breaking at every corner. Thought they would be tourists and sure enough saw the sticker for a rental car company on the window. I passed them! Think that is the first vehicle I have past other than passing lanes.
    Arrived at Kaikoura around lunch time. Not sure I have ever been before. Maybe as a teenager. I can understand why people would want to come here with the amazing sea views.
    As you know from previous posts I am not very confident at parking. Thankfully Kaikoura is campervan friendly with designated campervan spots and close to the shops but not with a sea view. I had to fed the meter till 5-30pm.
    I had a wander down to the shops and a look around the museum and art gallery.
    Late afternoon put the trainers on and went for a walk. It was a toss up whether to walk or bike. Bit of a wind so walking it was. Saw a train leaving. Would it get into Christchurch around 7?
    I am going to freedom camp this evening. I reckon I just have to be gone by 8-30. I am getting more confident....!!
    On to Blenheim tomorrow.
    Läs mer