Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Blenheim

    March 9 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Life is always interesting. After posted the blog last night got a call from my nephew. He had been working further north and made the effort to pop in and say hi. So chuffed knowing how long a journey they had to get back to Christchurch.
    When it was time for bed, a light had appeared going in the shower. I have no idea where the switch is! Never knew there was one and still don't know how to turn it off.
    I was the first one away this morning from the group of vehicles parked in Kaikoura.
    It was an interesting drive from there to Blenheim. The sea on one side reminded me of Kingston to Frankton but instead of the lake it is sea.
    The paddocks are brown and then you see the green of the grape vines. Seemingly harvest starts tomorrow.
    My first port of call was Sandy who was a postie in Invercargill many moons ago. Enjoyed my short visit with her.
    I managed to get more fuel in a built up area of Blenheim. Great that the fuel gauge is working.
    Next I visited another former postie from Invercargill. Short but a good catch up with Barbara.
    Visiting not over for the day and went to see two former Air Force friends. Lovely to hear about their time in the Air Force and people we knew from those days.
    They have a wonderful garden and generously gave me figs, lemon, apples and a peach.
    It was after 7 when I left and pretty much clicked on a park over property and ended up in Renwick. A lovely truck driver helped me park my camper. It is a pub and he was having a beer. Makes it a lot easier when someone is there to guide you.
    Probably will go on to Nelson tomorrow but it could be Monday - I don't have to make a decision just go with the flow.
    Read more