Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Pelorus Mail Boat

    March 13 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    This morning I parked on the main street of Havelock that I had sussed out on Tuesday that there wasn't a time limit. I walked the three blocks to the mail boat jetty.
    Seemed easier for parking a camper there than down on the foreshore.
    As I checked in did I want lunch? Pretty hard to decide when you have just had breakfast. Hell I could be sea sick and not want anything. Opted for the toasted sandwich.
    It is a couples world. All couples except one young chap and another couple with an extra lady. It was okay but not totally. Sat at the back of the boat. Soon nattering to people around me.
    The boat is similar to the Stewart Island ferry.
    It is a tourist boat that delivers mail. Not a mail boat that takes passengers. Must make it worthwhile with all the people on board from a profit point of view.
    It was probably an hour before we did the first drop off. The chap was English and only came to NZ for the summer. I wonder if he was a ham radio operator because I am sure Tony talked to someone up this way.
    It is pretty amazing where people have built homes. A lot are holiday homes. Power, internet I wonder about and if something breaks pricy to get a tradesman to fix things.
    Not sure how many places we stopped at and the kind of "trollies" they had to get the goods back up the hill from the jetty to their house. Very innovative. I was impressed.
    Some went on a farm tour, so we dropped them off and they took us for lunch. The cafe is in the middle of no where! As we would jump in our cars to go to a cafe or out for a meal, people hop into their boats and go on the water for a meal out...!! Amazing.
    One passenger was a woofer. Young people that come to NZ and work for nothing and help people out and get their room and food in return. This chap was working by the time we were leaving the restaurant.
    As I walked in order for Wendy so that was good. I didn't have any sea sickness. Well oiled machine.
    Excellent commentary the whole time about the people that live there and other interesting information. A lot of the farm land has been in the same family for generations. Showed and told us a lot of how mussels are farmed. Wilding pines too. Who knows what else I heard about but forgotten.
    Saw a couple of seals but no whales or dolphins. They do see them regularly on this trip.
    It was a long day away just on ten and not back till after 4pm.
    It had been suggested I wear warm clothes. I was over heating on the jetty before we left but soon after leaving knew I had not overdressed.
    The day was overcast so no sun. I could taste the salt on my lips.
    When I got back it was in the camper and away to Nelson. A bit of a test with driving but not as bad as yesterday on the Queen Charlotte piece of road.
    Here with my good friend June and absolutely going to take advantage of her washingmachine tomorrow and the weather forecast is good to get it all dry! Sometimes small things excite me!
    Read more