Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Havelock

    March 12 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    This morning I took the bike off the back of the camper and went biking. It was very enjoyable even if I didn't do many K's. Much easier to stop and take pictures without trying to find a park. On my travels I did see a new look NZ Post posting box. First I have seen with the new colours. After the bike ride I went back to the racecourse and emptied and filled the various tanks on the camper. So all good. Not a perfect empty, but okay for me.
    When moving on I was passing the VTNZ I popped in to get my road users print out for the windscreen of the camper. Again it is the first time I have needed to buy more road users and in hindsight it would have been better not to do it online. I had hoped it would have been sent to Invercargill and Jack could have sent it on. I just know I will have moved on by the time it gets to Nelson. We live and learn.
    Set the GPS for Havelock and she decided to take me the scenic route.
    Certainly challenging driving but I was lucky and no one behind me most of the way, so I didn't need to get anxious. I did have a smile when I saw the 50k signs and I was only doing 30.
    Very picturesque and like I said challenging driving but I kept it slow and no problems.
    My good friend of 30+ years Geoff is holidaying up this way also. He had txt me to say where he was and then I was at Momarangi Bay. It is a small world. We sat at the seaside and shared our adventures. He is going north.
    Soon enough it was time to leave and I headed for Havelock where I am going on the mail boat in the morning. So pleased I came today after that road..!! There is another route I could have taken.
    I looked at the POP here and then decided the camping ground was the best option. Certainly not as cheap but I am okay with it. Bit of a concern when she said I will put you in spot 45. Panic will I get in? I am getting a pro at parking these days! No problem parking.
    Like I said on the mail boat in the morning and then on to Nelson.
    Read more