Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Temples, Terraces & Tea ☕️

    February 9, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    Thanks to my very knowledgeable and patient driver today, Made, who took me to some amazing places around Ubud! The traffic was bedlam but Made remained calm… I am sure that I would not have been so calm! 🧘🏻‍♂️

    First we stopped at a traditional Balinese house and took a look into many of the rooms. I was able to play the wooden xylophone, quite badly, and then I also tried my hand at the traditional method of treating rice 🌾 … Once again, very badly… 🤦‍♂️🙅🏻‍♂️
    And finally I was able to taste some unique coffee and tea varieties including coffee that is made from the poo 💩 of an animal! It was actually delicious 🤫💩🤤 🐵

    It has become evident that most experiences have a definite and choreographed element of marketing in return for money which can become quite anxiety producing and take away from the uniqueness of the activity… There is only so much haggling and bargaining you can comfortably take part in. Cries of “one dollar, one dollar, one dollar” after everything you look at or go into can become tedious. Don’t get me wrong, I totally understand where this comes from and participate and contribute whenever I can and do… 🙏✊🏻
    I was shocked to hear that most hospitality staff and the equivalent of only $12 a day! 😳

    Next stop was some amazing terraced rice 🌾 paddies. Once again, I could have added various other activities such as: taking a swing ride or sitting in a nest 🪹 made of twigs but I was happy to just take in the beauty of the terraces. Made asked if I’d like to walk around them but I was feeling slightly gingerly due to over consumption last night so I declined further activity… 🫤

    Finally, we took in the beauty of Tegenungan Village Waterfall. I also went for a dip in the pond at the base of the waterfall. This was refreshing and also to help me wake up! 😱

    It took a very long time to get back to Seminyak where I met up with the intrepid volcano climber, Mon, who was very proud to say she had conquered Mount Batur! 🌋💪🏻✊🏻
    Good one Mon! 👏👏👏
    After hearing the challenge of climbing it in the dark I was extremely happy that I had not followed her shining example! 😮‍💨

    Thank you so much Made! It was a great day out taking a very informative look at things I probably would never have considered looking at otherwise! 🙏✊🏻💪🏻👏
    Read more