Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Proud Polignano a Mare: Nonna’s Lasagne

    September 16, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    We thought it had got as good as it gets today but then we were told by Mauritzio, our tour leader, that we were going to go to a ‘special surprise’ destination. Excitedly I had guessed it might be Polignano a Mare, which I have wanted to go to for a very long time.

    Located on Italy's southern Adriatic coastline, the town of Polignano a Mare is an ancient seaside town dramatically sitting above rocky cliffs and sea caves and offering sweeping views of the turquoise sea 🌊

    Excitedly, I was rounding every corner in the hope to see this magical beach that I had only seen in travel guides, YouTube, and books… Then, all of a sudden there it was… If we had more time I would have jumped straight into the water, but, alas… Not to be… Instead, we found a fantastic trattoria and had the best lasagne I have ever tasted…Nonna made it lovingly herself: One man in our tour group who could speak Italian asked Nonna, on my behalf, if it would be okay to take a photo and she was extremely obliging, adding that it was kind of me to ask before taking it, because most people just took it without asking… 👵🏻
    PS: Her lasagne was the best I had ever eaten!

    As I turned a corner on the walk back to the bus, I accidentally slapped my face lightly against a tree 🌿 branch, which was growing along the coast, and all I could taste 👅 was salt in my mouth… This was proof that I had just had another wonderful day by the sea 🌊 ☀️
    Read more