Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 78

    Day: 13

    October 1, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 55 °F

    I woke up tired this morning. Could have been the thunderstorms rolling through in the middle of the night. They are scary from inside a tent in the middle of the woods

    It stoped raining around 8am and I was packed and moving before 9. I had to fight the wind the entire 10-mile ride to Crescent City.

    I stopped at a Saturday market and got breakfast, then decided that I was going to get a much-needed room and rest. I have a 1217 ft hill to climb a couple of miles ahead. I was in no mood to tackle that and the wind.

    I got lucky the hotel let me check in at 12:30. First thing I did was run a hot bath and soak my aching body. I then ran to the nearby store to get something to throw in the microwave for dinner and some beer. I haven't had one in a while.

    Also figured out my spoke tool doubles as a great bottle cap opener.

    I spent the night doing small maintenance on my bike, some route plotting, organizing my stuff, drying out my gear, and getting rid of weight that I don't need.

    In a few days this little adventure is going to get real. I'm a little nervous about turning east. After that it will not be such a cushy ride. There won't be state parks with campsites and showers every 30 to 50 miles. Planning my run route will be more important for places to sleep places to sleep, food, and water.

    To be honest, I'm looking forward to getting off 101 and the constant parade of traffic. Being near the ocean has been awesome, but I'm ready for a little more solitude.

    But tonight some normalcy... I get to sleep in a bed for the first time in about 10 nights. Wooohooooo!
    Read more