Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 92

    Day 27 : The Desert

    October 15, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌬 66 °F

    I woke up feeling great. It was a beautiful day and there was no wind. The weather was calling for winds up to about 27 miles an hour later that day. I figured I could get in some miles before it started. When it did, it wouldn't be too bad. Nothing like yesterday.

    It was a great decision. The day was perfect.

    I am in the desert now, and it is so beautiful! My 28 mile ride today took me through a valley surrounded by mountains. The traffic was mild, so I was mostly alone.

    I was trying to make it another 15 miles to Walker lake, but the wind started picking up. I found a great spot to camp up a small hill at the base of a mountain. What a view from my tent!

    It's s been a minute since I felt good about this ride. Between being home sick and just tired, I was wondering how much longer I wanted to do this. Today I felt great again and I loved every bit of this day.
    Read more