Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Sukau

    December 9, 2018 in Malaysia ⋅ 🌫 25 °C

    My stop after Sandakan, a small village in the middle of the jungle, right next to the Kota Kinabantang, the biggest river of Borneo. It's very small, with only a few places to eat, and wildlife being at your front door, literally. I had to fend away some monkeys to go to my room.

    The main thing to do here is spotting animals along the river. I saw a lot of monkeys, mainly the proboscis monkey, which you can only see in a few places in the wild anymore. I also saw some crocodiles, hornbills and some other animals. I wasn't lucky enough to see pygmy elephants or orangutans, but it was really good. I also did jungle trek here, which let to a huge cave filled with bats. It was in the wet season tho, so something we had to go just below knee deep in the mud. Most of my pictures are on my camera, not my phone.

    The breakfast was included which was toast with egg, for the rest it was mostly fried noodles again haha
    Read more