Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Chiang Mai

    January 2, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I liked Bangkok when I was there, but after Chiang Mai i regretted my stay there. Everything I did in Bangkok, I did better in Chiang Mai haha, except for partying. The first day I went with some friends on a trek, to a temple on a mountain. There weren't that many people so it was really nice. In the evening we went to a night market and had some amazing food.

    The next day we went to a elephant retirement park. This is a park that rescued elephants from harmful tourism and the lumber industry. They sustain the place by letting people come here and take care of the elephants for a day. You prepare their food, feed them and give them a bath.

    Because the Thai food is really great, we took a cooking class in the evening. You could choose yourself what you wanted to learn. I learned how to make pad Thai, Khao Soi, spring rolls, and a Thai soup.

    The day after that we went to the highest peak in Thailand, 2562 meters above sea level. The peak itself wasn't that interesting but you could take a hike to see some amazing views, which eventually let to 2 beautiful temples and after that a waterfall.

    The food in northern Thailand is really great. I especially loved Khao Soi. It's a yellow curry made with coconut milk, it has noodles, crispy egg noodles and chicken in it. My favourite food of Thailand! Another dish I really liked was rice with stewed porkleg.
    Read more