Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Pak beng

    January 11, 2019 in Laos ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    The slow boat I took was a two day trip, with a stop in Pak Beng. After immigration and the necessary tuk tuks, I got to the boat. I paid a little bit too much in hindsight, but not that much as I traveled as much as possible by myself.

    I was very lucky because there were so many people that they had to get a second boat. The first boat was already full, an only a handful of passengers still needed a spot, so the second boat was not that busy. The motor is on the back of the boat, completely in the open! So if you were in the back of the boat you had a lot of noise.

    On the boat I met some other Dutch people and we spend our day on the boat chatting, but also some alone time.

    Pak Beng is a town that revolves around the slow boat stop, there are lots of guesthouses and some restaurants, and they all try to reel you in.

    After we some food we went to a bar to play some pool, but not for long because I was really tired from the last couple of days.

    The next day we were really lucky again, as we got the boat with the nice seats, as opposed to the boat with the wooden seats. After a day of relaxing on the boat, we finally arrived in Luang Prabang, but we had to leave the boat by a very small wooden plank haha. Of course we had to take a tuk tuk from were we where dropped off, because they try to get as much money from you as possible.
    Read more