Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Yangon

    November 1, 2017 in Myanmar ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    I don’t know what I was expecting when I arrived in Yangon. The traffic was typical – tooting horns, too many cars for the number of lanes and people dodging and weaving to find the fastest way to their destination.

    Mosques sat side by side with churches book-ended by grand colonial buildings, some quite fanciful and some in the saddest of conditions. Those in corporate hands seem to have fared well while others provide a crumbling backdrop for street vendors to peddle their wares.

    It was hot and steamy as I tried to orientate myself with the area around my hotel. I decided to watch the sunset from Shwedagon Pagoda, the most well-known landmark in Yangon. I abandoned plans to walk - too hot.

    I don't know what I expected but it was amazing. Watching the colours on the golden stupa change as the light faded and the spotlights illuminate the complex took my breath away. Yes, it was crowded and yet there were pockets of peace behind smaller shrines. People chanting, singing, praying, hitting the bells which sent a sonorous deep note through the night all of it was just incredible.

    I just wandered until my feet hurt and I reluctantly headed back to the hotel. What a wonderful first day.
    Read more