Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Let the adventure begin

    February 1, 2019 in India ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    Well this is day 2 of my latest adventure. Who would have thought that I would be sitting watching sea eagles soaring above or watching dolphins in the Arabian sea while I sit and have breakfast.

    India is India – dusty, noisy, old with crumbling infrastructure, bad roads and no traffic rules to speak of which is why I love it. I’m staying at Fort Kochi before my trip starts on Sunday and I meet the rest of the group. Fort Kochi is a mixture of Portuguese, Dutch and British with a distinct Indian flavour which really comes from the people here. And, how could you not love the food?

    I’ve managed to fend off tuk tuk drivers who want to take me to shops and don’t understand why I would want to walk but if you don’t walk you miss things like the young man playing scales on his sitar in a 400 year old building which is now a gallery and café. You can’t put a price on things like that.

    I hope you’ll enjoy reading about what Kerala and Tamil Nadu have to offer over the next couple of weeks …..
    Read more