Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Corinna, Pieman River

    February 17, 2021 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ -6 °C

    Our first walk of the day today was along a windswept beach that reminded me of something out of a sci-fi movie. It was pretty wild and woolly out there are as we tried to find some petroglyphs along the edge of the water. They are fairly well hidden. Saw lots of animal tracks on the beach but no critters to speak of.

    The Balfour track was next and we once again headed into the rainforest. The temperature dropped significantly and we were once again surrounded by massive trees and every size, shape and colour of fungus you could possible imagine. Another magical place.

    Corinna is an old mining town that is now an eco-resort for want of a better word. Sitting right the forest at the end of quite a long dirt road, it's the sort of place you could spend weeks, not just a few days. The cottages were clean, comfortable and spacious. As I sat on my porch, a pademelon and her joey paid me a visit. What a beautiful spot.

    I asked the guides to leave me there and pick me up on their next trip.
    Read more